Modified Rankin Scale

Updated: Jun 10, 2022
Author: Buck Christensen; Chief Editor: Buck Christensen 

Modified Rankin Scale

The Modified Rankin Scale (mRS) is used to measure the degree of disability in patients who have had a stroke, as follows[1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8] :

  • 0: No symptoms at all

  • 1: No significant disability despite symptoms; able to carry out all usual duties and activities

  • 2: Slight disability; unable to carry out all previous activities, but able to look after own affairs without assistance

  • 3: Moderate disability; requiring some help, but able to walk without assistance

  • 4: Moderately severe disability; unable to walk without assistance and unable to attend to own bodily needs without assistance

  • 5: Severe disability; bedridden, incontinent and requiring constant nursing care and attention

  • 6: Dead