Glasgow Outcome Scale 

Updated: Nov 24, 2014
  • Author: Buck Christensen; Chief Editor: Buck Christensen  more...
  • Print

Glasgow Outcome Scale

The Glasgow Outcome Scale (GOS) categorizes the outcomes of patients after traumatic brain injury, as follows: [1]

  1. Death

  2. Persistent vegetative state: Minimal responsiveness

  3. Severe disability: Conscious but disabled; dependent on others for daily support

  4. Moderate disability: Disabled but independent; can work in sheltered setting

  5. Good recovery: Resumption of normal life despite minor deficits