Modified Hoehn and Yahr Scale 

Updated: Nov 26, 2014
  • Author: Buck Christensen; Chief Editor: Buck Christensen  more...
  • Print

Modified Hoehn and Yahr Scale

The Hoehn and Yahr scale is used to describe the symptom progression of Parkinson disease. The scale was originally described in 1967 and included stages 1 through 5. It has since been modified with the addition of stages 1.5 and 2.5 to account for the intermediate course of Parkinson disease.

The modified Hoehn and Yahr scale is as follows: [1]

  • Stage 0: No signs of disease

  • Stage 1.0: Symptoms are very mild; unilateral involvement only

  • Stage 1.5: Unilateral and axial involvement

  • Stage 2: Bilateral involvement without impairment of balance

  • Stage 2.5: Mild bilateral disease with recovery on pull test

  • Stage 3: Mild to moderate bilateral disease; some postural instability; physically independent

  • Stage 4: Severe disability; still able to walk or stand unassisted

  • Stage 5: Wheelchair bound or bedridden unless aided